Happy National Spoonerism Day!

spoonerismHello!

I have been telling Eric that I feel like I have a brain tumor or something because I have started talking so poorly! It’s like no matter how hard I try I keep mixing up my speech. I’m sure I sound like an absolute fool when I’m instructing in my lessons… Spoonerisms are one thing that I definitely keep mixing into my deteriorating speech. Spoonerisms, in case you don’t know, are the mixing of consonants to create new words. For example, Shel Silverstein wrote a book called Runny Babbit which is chalked full of them! Here’s a line that I found to share, “Runny Babbit lent to wunch and heard the saitress way, ‘We have some lovely stabbit rew, our special for today.'” I’m not sure I would recommend kids learn to read on spoonerism books – it’s hard enough to read as adults. The funny thing is, if you spoonerize the spoonerisms then you’re just left with the real words! Today’s a really fun holiday, especially for those who like puzzle and word games. I’ll leave you with a common statement that most everyone knows, “Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things!” – psst, it’s a spoonerism!

Carrie

P.S. Skegenda is a super useful virtual binder application for iPad users. Purchase it in the App Store for only $3.99 and watch your productivity skyrocket when you organize and simplify your world!

P.S. Patti Roberts, an Australian born writer, has released her new teen novel Witchwood Estate on Amazon. It’s an episodic, short story fiction that brings the fantasy world to life. Download it now while it’s free!

P.S. Rollors ® is a fun outdoor yard game that’s entertaining for the entire family. Set up in seconds and spend hours rolling the disks to the goals and collecting points. There’s a competitive bit of skill and an addictive bit of chance! Roll your way to fun!

P.S. EventFish is an online event planning tool that acts as a one-stop-shop for all of your event planning needs. Like an AngiesList for events, you can find vendors in the online marketplace. Your event, your plan, your way!

P.S. Marlie Grace is an inspiring 4 year old who wants to walk and overcome her cerebral palsy. The fundraising efforts are nearly halfway to the £50,000 goal and she needs your help to get a life changing operation. Donate today!

P.S. Zack Orsborn has two thrilling novels for sale, “Oh, Ghost” and “Freaks We Are,” which are totally edgy, cool, must-read additions for your summer hit-list. He, a talented guy, can also do graphic design work for you or your business!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

