Happy National Soup Swap Day!

pesole

Hello!

It is just a beautiful Saturday. Absolutely delightful! I got to sleep in this morning, put my soup on the stove, took a sunny stroll to the store for a few much needed rations, and have been writing articles and watching Downton Abbey all afternoon. Of course I would love to be in Albany to see Eric and the family but it’s not totally wrong of me to enjoy a lazy weekend up here all to myself.

Oddly enough I was struck with inspiration to make posole today before I noticed it was Soup Swap Day. Once again I say, it’s the best when holidays line up without any effort! I was introduced to posole at Christmas two years ago when our friends from church brought it in a big crock-pot. Dennis is from New Mexico and has shared a lot of Mexican cuisine with us since he worked his way into our circle so this was his very appreciated addition to the festivities. My mom adapted it for herself with chicken instead of pork as the brilliant soup maker she is and now I’m mixing up the recipe too. It’s dirt cheap to make you can’t really ruin it. Now that I have a spice cupboard my cooking motto is ‘throw it all in there!’. While I’m far from a master chef I’m happy to swap my soup recipe with you all and you can take what I say with a grain of salt. Heavens knows nothing about it is accurate – rather I’ve just been stirring it and tossing in ingredients as I please like a witch over her brew!

Carrie’s Interesting Chicken Posole Recipe

1 can hominy, drained and rinsed

1 can garbanzo beans (because I bought them on accident and want them gone from my cupboard. I read they mix well with hominy)

1 can diced tomatoes

1 small can diced chilies (same story as the garbanzo beans)

1/2 onion (I would have used more but that’s all I had in the fridge)

5 chicken tenderloins (again, I would have used a little more but that finished off my Costco bag)

1/4 box of chicken stock and a teaspoon of bouillon (you guessed it – all I had)

A swig of lemon juice (to finish off my bottle)

1/2 small bottle of lime juice

Fresh cilantro

Spices: bay leaves, poultry seasoning, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, and chili powder (all to taste)

3 coffee mug fulls of water to add some more broth

I threw everything in a big pot on the stove this morning around 11 and I plan to let it simmer on low until I can’t stop salivating and throw it in a bowl for dinner. I’ve been sipping on the broth every time I stir it and I cannot wait to slurp down the whole pot. We’ll see if I have anything for leftovers after all!

Carrie

P.S. Dominos India Coupons: If you’re not having soup today have pizza instead! This coupon site collects discount codes and coupons for Dominos so you never have to pay full price for your pie in India! Shop more, pay less.

P.S. SHCOON, Shot Hot Coffee Out of Nose, is a hilarious site I could peruse for hours. It has some of the wackiest, most unique gifts that you’ve probably never heard of or figured there’s a use for. Anyone want to get me the transparent iPhone 6 for my birthday? Pleaseeee!

P.S. My mom used to have fancy purple halo lights on her old car and it was nice because when she’d pick me up from rehearsal at night I could see her headlights coming down the road and didn’t have to peer in the window to see if it was her; silly, I know. This cool site sells halo lightscustom headlights, and oracle lighting. Check them out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

