Happy National Take your Houseplant for a Walk Day!

IMG_3718Hello!

First of all: yes, I’m standing in a sun beam.

Second of all: yes, I have a plant on my dog’s leash.

Third of all: no, it’s not quite as cooperative as the usual thing you would take on a walk!

This holiday is a fun one to celebrate simply because it’s silly and nonsensical. People enjoy hearing about ‘normal’ holidays to celebrate ‘normal’ things, but it’s always better to see the reaction on people’s faces when you name something totally unexpected. A friend from school in Portland would always have me repeat the holiday about 3 times before she would discover what it actually was. “It’s National Leave the Office Early Day!” “National Leering Officiant Day?” “No, National Leave the Office Early Day!” “National Leave the Officer Out of it Day?” “No! Leave the Office Early!” “Oh! Well I never know what to expect when you tell me these things so it really could be anything!” Today is pretty much exactly that in a nutshell.

Now on another note, we have a not-exactly-National Holiday to celebrate: it’s my padré’s birthday! 54 years old and he’s still at it. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and cake/pie, just the usual celebrating that birthdays are all about! Happy birthday dad, I love you! : D

Carrie

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Happy National Take your Houseplant for a Walk Day!

  1. Your photo envisioned exactly what I thought of when I saw this “holiday.” I hope you don’t mind. . . I borrowed it for my blog.

  2. Pingback: Looking Through the Wrong Lens | Revelling In the Overflowing Grace of God

  3. Pingback: Happy National Barbie in a Blender Day! | Every Day is a Holiday

  4. Pingback: Happy National Barbie in a Blender Day! - Every Day is a Holiday

Leave a Reply

