Happy National Sierra Club Day!

sierra club

Hello!

First off, as much as Portland prides themselves on their green lifestyles, the park blocks, and having nature close to the city… it’s nothing in reality. It’s National Slugs Return from Capistrano Day and while I see a slug about every morning sllooowly sliding around across the walkway  at home to get the other side of the roses I haven’t found one once since I’ve been up here. And although it’s heaven to have never seen a bug, except a fruit fly, in my dorm room, I’m starting to wonder if they’ve sprayed pest control from a helicopter across the city or something.

Enough of the slug talk and onto the next order of business, it’s National Sierra Club day – and although there are probably a thousand country clubs, ski clubs, and girls-named-sierra-clubs of the same name, I’m going with the most obvious means of celebration. The Sierra Club, founded today in 1892 by John Muir (I read something by him in a class Fall term! Look, I’m learning!) is an environmental organisation in the United States to ‘explore, enjoy, and protect the wild places of the earth’. Technically I did nothing to explore, enjoy, or protect any wild places today but yesterday my lovey and I did go on a little nature adventure! We’ll rewind a little bit and pretend this picture is especially current. If you know me at all, you’ll know that there is nothing I hate more than physical exercise. God has blessed me a long form and a fast metabolism and I will be eternally grateful because without that I sure would be a plump little thing! However, there is something especially invigorating about going for a leisurely walk with someone you love. It doesn’t especially matter what the surroundings are, unless you’re judging mud density, and it’s just about you and a brilliant conversation. Oddly enough, it’s like the movement down a path ensures constant movement in your discussion and there never seems to be a dull moment (and if there is, it’s just to catch my breath). I am fully in support of recycling, reusing, and rejuvenating in nature. Happy birthday Sierra Club, you’ve inspired me and hopefully, a reader!

Carrie

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy National Sierra Club Day!

  1. anthonyvenable110

    Reblogged this on anthonyvenable110 and commented:
    Goodness this is perry

Leave a Reply

