Happy National Stars and Stripes Forever Day!

stars and stripesHello!

Are you whistling along with me? I just got up to that beloved piccolo feature so feel free to hop in at any time: Doo doo doo doo doo doo doo doo dooduhlooduhloo doo dooooo! Well that doesn’t quite translate here so I have to assume that you know the tune… (And if you don’t, listen to the US Marine Band playing Sousa’s most famous work at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-7XWhyvIpE).

On my end of things, I’m sharing one of my favorite pairs of converse. You could say that I have a bit of a collection with 13 unique pairs, but this one holds a special place in my heart because I’m an Amuhrikun. That’s right, say it in your head with a little bit of twang – Amuhrikun. I’m proud of what our country stands for, who we’ve become as a nation, and I know that I’m so lucky to be blessed with freedoms and liberties that people have died to protect. I know it’s rather late for today, but maybe tomorrow take out your stars and stripes and show a little national pride, because we shouldn’t only ‘bleed red, white, and blue’ when tragedies and the Fourth of July roll around!

And if, by chance, someone notices that it’s also National Chicken Dance Day and I have thus far ignored that wonderful, childish holiday, let it be known that my roommate has now reappeared so I cannot record myself being ridiculous in peace. : )

Carrie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

