Happy National Tweed Day!

ImageHello!

Today we honor a textile that is not as well loved today as it once was. You don’t often see it in fashion magazines and you surely won’t find it in my closet, but luckily my friend David came to the rescue! His tweed hat is a wonder to be marveled at, so today in particular we shall marvel. Did you know that tweed originated as ‘working man’s cloth’ among small farmers and laborers in Scotland and Ireland? It has evolved over time and an unnamed website claims, “Tweed is much more than a piece of cloth. It speaks of standards to live up to. And it is thus more than a statement: it is a promise.” Man… that’s deep. What sort of promises am I engaged in with David’s hat? I’m not really sure, it’s just a cool fabric.

On another note, today is National Don’t Go to Work Unless it’s Fun Day. I didn’t think it would be right to skip the third day of the term (or any day for that matter) so I flipped it around and made it fun! I joked with some friends in Music Theory, rolled my eyes through a ‘performance enhancement activity,’ thoroughly enjoyed my french conversation class, and discovered some interesting history about the evolution of Early Europe! I feel like there’s always a bright side to be found so I did go to work today, and it was fun.

I hope you found a good spin on your day, or called in to cancel, and found some tweed throw on top. Remember to celebrate, because every day is a holiday!

Carrie

P.S. Healthiack is a blog that offers daily tips on health, diet, weight loss, beauty, and fitness. Spice up your meal routine with a healthy recipe, snag a special promotion, or enjoy a quick workout tip!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy National Tweed Day!

  1. Pingback: New York Today: Cloud Show | Ad Jet

Leave a Reply

